Billy Wagner and his team in the Nobelhart & Schmutzig
14883
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-14883,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

BILLY WAGNER

Host and Sommelier

As owner, host and sommelier at Nobelhart & Schmutzig in Berlin, Billy Wagner seeks to teach his guests the real flavor of his adopted city— even if he’s got to get vocally local about it. By selecting exclusively regional products, he supports producers in Berlin and its environs and seeks to rekindle a broader love for the region’s native bounty in the kitchens of the capital city.

Billy Wagner

and his Path to Sommelier

Billy Wagner was born in 1981 in Mittweida, Germany, not far from Chemnitz. He grew up primarily in Erlangen-Dechsendorf, a town near Nuremberg. Working towards a degree in restaurant administration, he apprenticed in the Hotel Herzogs Park in Herzogenaurach. The passion for all things wine was kindled while working under the direction of Restaurant Manager and Sommelier Ivan Jakir at Essigbrätlein restaurant in Nuremberg. Other stations included: Dieter and Elvira Kaufmann’s restaurant Zur Traube in Grevenbroich near Düsseldorf; Claudia and Michael Stern’s Vintage in Cologne; a position as sommelier at Monkey’s Plaza in Düsseldorf, where he developed three different wine concepts; and finally the big jump to Berlin in August 2008, where he assumed the role of host and sommelier in RUTZ — Restaurant & Weinbar. There he worked with master chef Marco Müller until February 2014. In 2010, in the middle of that period, “RUTZ – Restaurant” climbed from 16 to 17 points in the Gault Millau wine guide. Billy and his team also preserved their one star rating through his departure.

Repeat Winner of Sommelier of the Year

On February 11, 2015 Billy Wager opened Nobelhart & Schmutzig. He had previously earned repeat honors as German Sommelier of the Year and a reputation as one of the more outspoken hosts in Germany. Whatever the situation, if there’s something delicious in that bottle, he’s on board. Except tequila. He can’t stand tequila. When among his close friends, he’s probably drinking an herbal schnapps or fruit brandy, a snifter of liqueur and the sommelier’s nightcap — a tasty beer – Uerige Alt. With so many sexy alternatives, he’s not afraid to play the field.

Over the years, Billy Wagner has developed his deep pool of knowledge and personal taste as a sommelier the old fashioned way — one discerning sip at a time. Far away from the mainstream and grand icons of the wine world, Billy recognized for himself that good wines can only come from fine soils. He today is a major proponent of the philosophy of regional wines — individual artifacts of their origin from healthy soils and indigenous grapes. This is a conscious turning of his back against the increasing standardization of the wine world and the indifferent tastes that come with it. ‘Regional’ to him means not just offering German wines, but drawing deeply from the wide variety of European wines.

 

Billy Wagner champions wines that are fine, deep and lively. These are wines that don’t satiate one’s thirst — they awaken it. Aromatic complexity, as well as drinkability, play an enormous role for him.

 

Yet Billy Wagner’s zeal isn’t restricted solely to the fermented juice of the grape. He’s happy to work over a radically layered fruit wine, a finely handcrafted beer, a high quality tea or coffee, classic cocktails and, of course, a well-prepared meal.

The Workhorse in the Kitchen

Micha Schäfer is the executive chef at Nobelhart & Schmutzig. He and his crew guide guests through the evening, presenting and explaining each progressive course. Swiss-born Schäfer came to Berlin in 2008, where his various jobs included a stint as a cook. After a brief excursion into theological studies in the city of Gießen, he ultimately found his calling in the kitchen, beginning his training in 2010. By 2012 Micha Schäfer had claimed a prized spot at “Villa Merton,” with two Michelin stars and 18 points in Gault Millau. Master Chef Matthias Schmidt invited him to assume a vital role in the restaurant’s creative processes, and Micha Schäfer soon learned the virtues of regional cuisine. Those experiences even today form the foremost foundation in his preparation of dishes. From day one he has been responsible for the kitchen at Nobelhart and Schmutzig.

Billy Wagner und sein Team im Nobelhart & Schmutzig
14883
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-14883,,qode-title-hidden,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.0.1,vc_responsive

BILLY WAGNER

Wirt und Sommelier

Als Inhaber, Wirt und Sommelier vom Nobelhart & Schmutzig möchte Billy Wagner seinen Gästen den Geschmack von Berlin näher bringen – auf brutal lokale Art und Weise. Mit seiner Auswahl ausschließlich regionaler Produkten unterstützt er die Produzenten aus Berlin und dessen Umland und möchte so die Vielfalt der Region in die Küchen der Hauptstadt zurückholen.

Billy Wagner

und sein Weg zum Sommelier

Billy Wagner wurde 1981 in Mittweida bei Chemnitz geboren und wuchs in Erlangen-Dechsendorf bei Nürnberg auf. Seine Ausbildung zum Restaurantfachmann absolvierte er im Hotel „Herzogs Park“ in Herzogenaurach. Im Restaurant „Essigbrätlein“ in Nürnberg entdeckte er unter Restaurantleiter und Sommelier Ivan Jakir seine Leidenschaft für Wein. Weitere Stationen waren Dieter und Elvira Kaufmanns Restaurant „Zur Traube“ in Grevenbroich bei Düsseldorf, das Kölner „Vintage“ bei Claudia und Michael Stern und schließlich das „Monkey’s Plaza“ in Düsseldorf, wo er drei unterschiedliche Weinkonzepte entwickelte, bis er im August 2008 als Gastgeber und Sommelier ins „RUTZ – Restaurant & Weinbar“ nach Berlin wechselte. Dort arbeitete er mit Küchenchef Marco Müller bis Februar 2014. In dieser Zeit wurde das „RUTZ – Restaurant“ von 16 auf 17 Gault-Millau-Punkte im Jahr 2010 heraufgestuft, den Stern im Michelin Guide hielten Billy und sein Team und bis zu seinem Ausscheiden.

Mehrfacher Sommelier des Jahres

Am 11. Februar 2015 eröffnete Billy Wagner in Berlin das Nobelhart & Schmutzig. Er ist zuvor vielfach zum besten Sommelier des Landes ausgezeichnet worden und einer der meinungsstärksten Wirte Deutschlands. Ob mit oder ohne Schuh, keine Flasche mit großem Inhalt ist vor ihm sicher. Nur Tequila kann er auf den Tod nicht leiden. Mit wirklich guten Freunden trinkt er am liebsten Kräuter- und Obstbrände, ein oder zwei Likörchen und selbstverständlich Bier – Uerige Alt. Da andere Mütter aber auch schöne Töchter haben, schläft er häufig fremd.

Über die Jahre hat sich Billy Wagner als Sommelier seine Erfahrung angetrunken und darüber seinen eigenen Geschmack entwickelt. Fernab vom Mainstream und den großen Ikonen der Weinwelt erkannte Billy für sich, dass guter Wein nur von guten Böden stammen kann. So vertritt er heute konsequent die Philosophie des regionalen Weines – individuelle Artefakte ihrer Herkunft von gesunden Böden und heimischen Reben. Damit kehrt er der Vereinheitlichung der Weinwelt und des indifferenten Geschmacks den Rücken. Regionalität bedeutet für ihn jedoch nicht nur deutsche Weine anzubieten, sondern sich der großen Vielfalt europäischer Weine zu bedienen.

 

Fein, tiefgründig und animierend müssen Weine laut Billy Wagner sein. Sie sollen nicht satt machen, sondern Lust auf mehr. Aromatische Komplexität, vor allem aber die Trinkigkeit spielt für ihn dabei eine enorm große Rolle.

 

Doch Billy Wagner hat nicht nur eine Schwäche für Vergorenes aus Trauben, er brennt auch für facettenreiche Obstweine, handwerklich gut gebrautes Bier, hochwertige Tee- und Kaffeesorten, klassische Cocktails und natürlich gut zubereitetes Essen.

Das Zugpferd in der Küche

Micha Schäfer ist der Küchenchef im Nobelhart & Schmutzig. Er und sein Team führen die Gäste durch den Abend, indem sie die Speisen- und Menüfolge vorgeben. Den gebürtigen Schweizer zog es 2008 nach Berlin, wo er unter anderem als Koch jobbte. Nach einem kurzen Stopp für ein Theologiestudium in Gießen, entschied er sich 2010 endgültig für die Ausbildung zum Koch. 2012 bekam Micha Schäfer eine Stelle in der „Villa Merton“, ausgezeichnet mit zwei Michelin-Sternen und 18 Punkten im Gault Millau. Küchenchef Matthias Schmidt involvierte ihn stets in seine kreativen Prozesse und so lernte Micha Schäfer schnell die Vorzüge der regionalen Küche, die bis heute seine oberste Prämisse in der Zubereitung seiner Gerichte darstellen. Seit der Eröffnung des Nobelhart & Schmutzig ist er dort für die Küche verantwortlich.